Tags

, , , , ,

Hi, I’m Scott Laue from NeuroReverb and I wanted to share some of the issues that I have with writing and how I work to surpass them, because I think we all run into mental roadblocks when writing.

My current project is a novel length work entitled: As Kingfishers Catch Fire. I plan for the book to have a sequel and have been working on the drafting process. Here is where I hit my snag. I am a writer that loves to play with words and the meanings behind words, history, allusions to literature, conventions (New and Old), and just general weirdness. I struggle with the drafting process because there is too much information that I want readers to be able to follow throughout the book. For example: The main character must have had intimate knowledge of the secret passageways in a building in order to escape the enemy.

Knowing that this information must come into play there are several methods I could take, probably more, but I’ll give three:

  • Knowledge of them through childhood exploration.
  • He and his love interest use them to see each other.
  • They are mapped out in some book that he happens to have on hand.

Each of these choices is viable; however, remembering that one, or all, of these things need to be included can be difficult in the drafting process. This is a simpler example than I actually need to be reminded of, but the concept is still there. That is why I created a sheet to help me with the drafting process (Coincidentally, it works for Academic papers as well).

Writing Scene Chart

The purpose behind this is that I can make a brief outline of a chapter or paper based on information I need to convey. As I write through my draft I can go back and fill in details that may be needed to give the story cohesion or allude to unexplained circumstances that lead into the next story.

I hope it is helpful for all of you who struggle with keeping stories cohesive or papers relevant.

-Scott

